Stormy Waddesdon

I had a lovely day today with Mrs J at Waddesdon.
I decided to overcome my hatred of the new parking arrangements and met Mrs J at the stupid bus stop to get the stupid bus up the hill.
We got tickets to go round the house which I've never done before, had a walk round the outside and then headed down to The Stables for lunch.
Before eating we went to see the Lod Mosaic exhibition which was great. They were digging up a road in Israel in 1996 and found a mosaic floor dating from A.D 300. Seventeen hundred years old and it looks as good as new. Amazing!
After lunch we had another walk - enjoying the beautiful Autumn sunshine - before heading into the house.
Oh my goodness!! To say it's a bit over the top would be an understatement! Quite something to see though.
We gave up halfway through - museum fatigue and various aches and pains - and headed out into the typhoon which had descended while we were inside. Howling wind, torrential rain, black skies and flying debris!
We sheltered under the café awning until the mobility shuttle came and took us to the bus stop just as the bus arrived.
Weirdly over the course of the hundred yard journey the rain stopped, the sun came back out and everything looked so sparkly and beautiful! I've never seen weather change so quickly before my very eyes!
What a lovely day - it's always nice to spend time with someone who shares my desire to take a lot of time taking a lot of photos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.