creweboy

By creweboy

My big end.....

After a break, I have decided to return to blipfoto, apart from anything else I love the way it can act as a diary of the more interesting days of my life.
Thus it is that I will not necessarily attempt a blip a day, as not all the days of my life are that interesting!
We went on a trip on Lake Geneva on one of the original steam driven paddle steamers. I could have blipped the Chateau de Chillon, the terraced vineyards between Lausanne and Vevey [a UNESCO world heritage site], but instead you have a view of the enormous innards of the two cylinder steam engine. These bits, the big ends, convert the in/ out motion of the steam driven cylinders into the circular motion to drive the paddle wheels round.
Engine dates from 1910. Fascinating, yes?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.