Reflected Grace

Great Crested Grebes really are a pretty bird, and they also cut a fine reflection. We're lucky to have them on the lower reaches of Kaituna River, and at this time of the year I always check to see if they are closely as I cross the bridge on the main highway, just before the valley turn-off.

I got some shots of a breeding couple a week or so ago, crawling on my hands and knees to get closer, shooting through the grass to evade being spotted. Tonight though only one bird was visible from my position (I later found the other was amongst the reeds) so I was able to grab this shot as it prepared to power away from me.

Thanks for all the well wishes for my birthday yesterday and for sending my Milky Way shot to the spotlight. What a lovely birthday present :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.