going back

Having spent too much time stuck at my desk over the last few weeks, and at the same time going through a frustrating phase as a result of the actual work I've been doing, today I decided to shut the shop and get away.

The weather forecast wasn't bad, and I headed west with the thought of taking the ferry over to Bute. By the time I reached the ferry terminal the weather was looking a bit wet, and I didn't want to take a risk on arriving on the island just to find it was too wet to do anything.

Plan B was to have lunch in Gourock. I lived there for a couple of years when I was in my 20s and doing my training. I haven't been back for about 25 years.

It was interesting for various reasons. I'm glad I went. I'm not one for looking back very much, but sometimes it can shed a bit of light on the ways forward.

I liked this shot of the town. It shows why I enjoyed my time there in many ways. It wasn't a very happy part of my life. I was at the bottom and on my way back up, but the locals (including the Other Ian - see yesterday's Blip) were very friendly and welcoming to me.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.