TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

The Silence of Emptying Spaces

Shortly after midday I had waited long enough to make my seaside exercise. The sun was shining now and then. No more rain to expect. So, I was curious to try out my new Lumix TZ55. A ‘present’ for my birthday, still to come in a fortnight. My Interim phonecamera - though not without merit - is not really fit for focussing under stormy and sandy conditions.
I choose again for a Compact, because for the process of walking in which I am engaged for the coming period, a Reflex would be to voluminous and heavy to carry along. So this afternoon I could make this new beginning. This TZ is quite another piece of instrument than the old TZ9 I had before, I must say. It feels heavier and firm. Later perhaps I’ll try to relate some technicalities to hitherto for me unknown qualities of photographic outcome. Now I’m just again that beginner who has to work through the manual.

As I crossed over to the Zandmotor much more carefully than last week, I rejoyced the decreasing of the stormy winds. Though the surf still had a rough impact, I could go for a surf dive without hesitation. After that refreshing wash out by the tumblers, I spend time to walk and look around, before returning home for tea. Gradually the beaches are becoming more deserted. As October proceeds every day fewer people come down to the seaside. Pavilions are broken down. Still a few walkers will play with their dogs, others are doing the walking tour. Apart from the eternal rustling of waters, silence is returning as the sandplains are emptying. I saw a giant swan flying low over the Laguna to the South. The sun was mostly hiding behind big towering clouds. How liberating it is to breath in these emptying spaces.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.