Whilst watching pumpkins in the rain

I was finally able to sign off the artwork and text for the newsletter at lunchtime. It has been a long, but enjoyable job, much helped by the designer Bruce who has been so tireless and responsive. Camila and I have overseen the whole production together which has also been good fun.

I celebrated by going back to the farm shop near Bisley to photograph the pumpkins that Ashley the farmer had suggested as he was going to harvest them all from the field imminently. I brought my wells this time and I certainly needed them as the recent rains had turned the red clay in the field into a squidgy muddy mess where the tractor tracks had cut up the earth's surface.

It started to rain soon after I reached the field and I retreated to the shelter of a few tall trees. It hadn't occurred to me that a rainbow might ensue, so when a double one developed I was delighted, especially with the dark grey clouds as background and when the shafts of sunlight suddenly broke through to illuminate the last of the orange pumpkins.

I did take a few other pictures too but the rainbow had to be blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.