An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

"This is NOT an HDR"

Most of you will know of my intense dislike of overbright, unnatural foregrounds, that to me just look wrong and a bit sickly.

So, am I being a hypercrite and tried my very first HDR, here?

No!

This is Laverstock Down, just after midnight. A couple of miles from my flat. Boscombe Down airfield and the glow of Amesbury in the distance. A 30 second exposure has created the blur in the moving-in rainclouds that almost got me wet and they have reflected the street-lamp glow to create those sheets of fire in the sky.

LARGE

Behind me, though, is the full moon, starting to wane, but still with some power in it and it is lighting the field up enough for it to be clearly seen. I liked the movement in the clouds so much that it had to be my Blip, though I cropped the very top, to contain all that swirling power.

Lens is Nikkor D 17-35mm f2.8

DERELICT CHALLENGE week 4

We had 65 entries.

Thanks to ALL who entered!

I have commented on many, but wasn't able to on all.

Inverculain's SO dramatic and moody capture combines a heart-wrenching history and an image to die for. You'll just have to see it to believe it!

mydartmoorwalks is my runner up, though it was competing with another in my mind, for a bit. But not only is it a change of subject and style for this Blipper it is still part of his landscape and his treatment has been undertaken superbly. I do like a bit of creative effort put in too, you know!

Thanks too for ALL those who got my Moon River Blip of yesterday up into the Spotlights - cheers!

My new Sigma macro came at lunchtime yesterday and I did give it a good try out for an hour in a local park. Very pleased though Blipping with it is unlikely what with these moonscapes calling and beckoning me!


Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.