Ice on the Nome River

Such a wonderful day today in Nome. I hired a 4WD and drove up to Salmon Lake, high in the mountains up the Kougarok Road and past the Nugget Divide. The weather threw just about everything at me, including a brief mini-blizzard up at the lake with driving snow and strong gusty wind, then gaps of brilliant sunshine, lighting up the most magic views! Lucky!
So many images to choose from but I've picked a river scene, rather than the mountains. I loved the way this little red boat is sitting on the ice, still moored, waiting to be rescued. There was an amazing amount of brash ice washing down the river.

Thank you everyone for all the wonderful comments since I've been in Alaska. I'm finding that the wifi is very slow here in Nome (but at least I've got it!) so uploading a blip is about all I'm managing at present. I do appreciate every comment though - so thanks again!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.