Simply Me

By Suze981

What's in a name?

Today I went to a humanist naming ceremony. It's the first humanist ceremony I've ever been to. It was basically the same as a christening, but a lot more personal and told the whole family's story about what this new life meant.

I was invited by my friend and work colleague, Derek to celebrate his 4 month old daughter, Iona. Derek and I worked together for a charity many moons ago and our paths randomly crossed again 2 years ago. He's a remarkable man that I look up to a lot, and today I had the pleasure to meet his family.

My favourite moment is the one pictured, where Ailsa (big sister) was giving her pledge to Iona with a proud Mum and Dad either side. I'm truly honoured to have been a part of it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.