Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Late day light on Burnt Meadow Pond

Dear Diary,

Our stretch of wonderful weather in Maine continues. This pond is about 3 miles north of my house. Much bigger than Little Clemons' Pond that I'm photographing for my year-long project, Burnt Meadow pond has lots of development on the northerly shore, which I tried to avoid photographing as I caught the lovely late afternoon light.

There is a tiny island in the middle of the pond which was beautifully illuminated. This really has been the most spectacular foliage season...the best in a decade they're saying and I would believe it. I don't think I will ever tire of standing on a shore and watching the light on the trees and the water.

Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.

― Lauren DeStefano, Wither

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.