A Mobile Hen House

Dear Diary,

I love chickens...there, I've said it.  Their low cluck-clucking is very restful to me.  I wish I could have them here but it would tie me down too much.  But I love to see how others house their chickens.  This mobile hen house is just a few miles from my house.  They hitch up their tractor and move it from spot to spot to catch the best light and spread the droppings around.  Quite clever I thought.

When I was very young we had chickens.  My father would drive into Boston and sell them from the back of the station wagon (There's a term we don't hear anymore!)  I would collect eggs and try to outsmart the rooster, a mean, terrifying guy to six year old!  I was, however, stealing his hen's eggs so no wonder he was cranky.  Later, after the chickens were gone, the large hen houses were a fascinating place to play.

My extra photograph is of my great-grandfather on his farm, the same one I just visited, with my mother and uncle.  It was probably around 1925 or 26 judging by my mother's diminutive size.  Now, I am fortunate to be able to get fresh eggs from neighbors who raise them humanely and with only organic grains.  One of the many benefits of rural living.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.