A Life of Laughter

By LaughterLover

The Long Bike Journey

We spent the morning tidying up Rory's cottage as his mum and sister are coming down for a stay during the week. I started by tackling the kitchen and before I knew it it was sparkling. Rory was left with the hoovering and folding down his clean washing.

We headed out for our improvised cycle about mid-day, which was based on Strava sections as we knew there would be cycle paths. The first half of the cycle was mainly off road which pleased Rory and was incredibly scenic, as it was costal which pleased me. We stopped for cake and water and Barn at Beal as we'd only packed crisps and a biscuit for lunch! The second half of the cycle is one of the hardest things I've ever done before, and if it weren't for Rory pushing me up some of the bigger hills, I certainly wouldn't have made it home! However, I did (spurred on by the signs counting down the milage) and can successfully say I've cycled 30 miles (my biggest cycle to date).

To try to warm up, we headed for showers and I had a cuppa (as everyone knows the warming power of a cuppa!) and as I was showering and getting changed Rory made dinner. One of the best meals I've ever eaten: fish, chips, peas and garlic bread...no words will do it justice!

We booked a weekend away to Windermere the weekend before Rory's birthday, so there's thay to look forward to and we spent the rest of the night looking at our planned 2015 summer holiday as I really didn't think my legs were up to moving! What a brilliant way to end a perfect weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.