Blue Beak

This is not my best photo of the tui today BUT it does show both his blue beak and his tongue. (Worth looking close up - I know he's not in true focus but he's still worth seeing) I was absolutely captivated by that blue beak. I've never seen a tui with one before - their beaks are jet black. I wondered if it was something to do with mating plumage but I googled it and found nothing.

It wasn't until I got the photos up on the big screen that I realised the flowers of the tree he is in (NZ native tree fuschia) have blue pollen. Amazing. I've seen tuis with their beaks yellow from flax pollen but never blue. A first. How neat is that?!

And it had to be this one with the tongue as well because I know my Mum will love it - Yes Mum, I'm emailing it to you!

I found out tonight, while googling, that tui have two voice boxes which is how they are able to make the incredible range of sounds that they do. They drum, whistle, cackle, sing, bark, click - they are amazing to listen to, and can imitate other birds too.

On another note entirely, thank you all so much for your views, comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's celebration blip. You are an amazing community - that I feel very privileged to be part of. Huge smiles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.