Uncertain Emotions

By meltingman

Dubrovnik Day 4: Single Isn't Contagious

Another lovely, sunny, hot day today and one spent mostly on a boat or on an island, waiting to get back on the boat.

I'm not a fan of excursions - being stuck with lots of random people in a small space for a day, but sometimes it's the only way to see what I want to see.

Great tour guide (later found out he's won "Best Tour Guide in Croatia" for 2014 and from what I saw, well deserved it is too - he was wonderful) and spending time out on a boat, especially surrounded by lovely scenery and crystal clear water is always a good thing if you ask me.

It was a trip to the Elaphite Islands - Lopud, Sipan and Korcula (minus their correct accents and twiddles). At first sight, they're beautiful - but then you learn that the numbers of people living on them is declining and you start to see signs that all's not as it should be and life's a bit harder on the islands than you first think.

You could have had a lovely blip of a beautiful harbour with boats, but I couldn't resist this derelict hotel. I almost went in to see what I could find, but then spotted workmen around it. Hopefully a sign that it's going to be restored.

Had an odd amount of time on each island - not enough to get stuck in to anything but too long just to aimlessly wander.

Once again, it struck me too - as it often does when I go away on my own on these types of holidays - couples gravitate to other couples. At lunch (on the boat) all the other tables were crammed full except for the one I was sat at - couples seem to see "single" as contagious - or think "she's on her own, something's obviously wrong with her." Thankfully a young German couple did come and sit with me and they were lovely.

Anyhoo - the islands are worth seeing. It'd just be nice to see them via a private boat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.