The Rhus leaves' transformation

My rather frenetic morning started earlier than expected as I worked at my desk at home. After brewing my first strong coffee of the day, I returned to my desk and glancing out of my upstairs window I saw a blackbird sitting rather forlornly on a branch of the tree in the continuing drizzle. On another branch behind it was another smaller bird and it prompted me to get my camera.

I edge back towards the window but as I peeked out the blackbird became scared and flew off. I stayed looking out of the window in the gloom and noticed a lot of other birds flying to and from the feeders and into and out of various trees and shrubs. I took a picture of a nuthatch on a feeder as well as flying off into the rhus tree where the larger bird feeders are still hanging.

A charm of goldfinches flew about and I pointed my camera down towards the bird feeder below my window but couldn't catch them before the flew off. They too went into various trees and shrubs singing brightly as they went, to be replaced by two green finches.

Despite the gloom I thought the colours of autumn looked rather beautiful under grey skies, so I took a picture of the rather amazing colour transitions we see each year on our rhus tree. I have a feeling that I will be pruning it back very severely this autumn as it has grown too big and blocks our views. I may go for a close up of their leaves as well one day soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.