When the creative juices run dry….

For some time I have felt about jaded about my blip contributions, feeling that they are becoming too repetitive, too reliant the dreaded emergency blip - too many flowers and garden birds in my case. I had a similar feeling earlier in the year and decided to give up on the consecutive daily blip but when it came to the point I managed to keep going until the summer months when subjects become more plentiful. However, this time I think it is important I take a break and just blip three or four times a week just to rebuild my confidence in my creative potential. So I have determined to escape the rigours of the daily blip but intend to continue blipping frequently enough to push myself to create images rather than just rely on obvious opportunities that occur.

These two years of blipping have been enormously stimulating and I have benefitted greatly from the support of my regular subscribers. I have undertaken new projects and new techniques that I never would have considered normally where my main impetus has been from club photography. There is great positive stimulus in Blipfoto, which encourages us to try things which we would not normally try. I would not have dreamt of doing some of the extreme macro photography I have attempted, nor the water droplets which have in a way become my signature images. My monochrome photography has improved by leaps and bounds, partly due to the stimulus of viewing and commenting on other blippers’ work and partly because of the opportunity to use it more regularly. I would like to thank personally Schubert and Rainie who have had enormous influence on my photography and others like PaulineW who share similar interests to me.

Once you start mentioning names others quickly spring to mind but suffice to say that there many blippers out there who share very openly the minutiae of their daily lives, their emotions and their losses and I have found sharing their lives an enriching experience and will continue to enjoy reading their journals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.