Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

The Barrier

So, I have some back blipping to do. Yes, I know …

Right now however, I am on Great Barrier Island. Why you ask? Well, my father-in-law is trying to sell a divine property, but a few months ago it sustained substantial storm damage, 300mm of rain in 3 hrs I believe. Slips, wharf damaged, bridges washed out, the works. It’s bad, but actually, not as bad as I imagined.

So I am here with my father-in-law, who isn’t too well. Seems like he is coping, just, with being here, but is house bound. And as usual, on a remote island totally off-grid, we’ve already had our share of problems, in only 24hrs! Inflatable dingy damaged, yet to repair. Haines Hunter used as a ferry to Fitzroy, flat batteries, charged now, but still a question why they went flat. Main house generator, not charging batteries, but now resolved, etc. …

However, we did get carpet replaced in one cottage thanks to Tom who borrowed a boat to get here!. Track to wharf cleared entirely, and much wood chain sawed. Chalet paths all cleared, and well, actually, just a bunch of other stuff. Started at 8, finished at 6.30, buggered! I’m on my own in terms of work, but that’s OK.

Then I went fishing, perfect evening, as you can see. 4 snapper, which I threw back, on the border of legal maybe, but couldn’t be bothered fileting!

Back to the house, cook dinner, a wine, and many phone calls to recount the day. Jim wasn’t so well, he went to bed …

Tomorrow is even bigger, pick up the digger and new wharf piles on the barge. I have no idea how were going to achieve this, but I have a strong feeling I‘ll be learning to drive a digger. Excited and nervous at that!

Overall, a good day despite the challenges. The challenges and hard work makes me feel alive, like nothing else.

Great Barrier in the foreground, Little Barrier in the back ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.