Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Diggers, Barges, Wharves and Poles

Yes, they can all be combined, as we proved today …

Out of the bay at 8.30, around to Fitzroy to meet the barge guys. Four 6 metre piles, 2 large laminated beams, a digger and a barge we’re waiting for us …

First task, make the poles pointy. So a-chain-sawing I went, harder than I thought as the wood was very solid! Then onto the barge, which in itself was a mission. Loaded, the barge took off, and I followed in the Haines. The best option we all decided was to drop the poles in the water, tie them together, and then in the next phase it would be easier to lift them straight out of the water and into positon. It was as sound strategy.

Then back to Fitzroy to load the digger on, glad I wasn’t driving. Instead my 75? Year old father in law was, who is having major hip problems. Impressed he made it on the barge, and through the day to be honest!

Back around to the bay and then the fun part, placing the poles into position and driving them into the sea bed. Mad you say? Well, we thought so too after the first few failed attempts. But then with some logic and trial and error we figured a system out and by 4 we had all the poles in. Superb.

Albeit, somewhat dangerous and I’m sure when I watch the video we’ll all cringe. I think frankly it was lucky no one got hurt.

Finally, the last hurdle was driving the barge into the beach and offloading the digger and the beams. Done, and then up to the house for a well-deserved beer.

What a day, physically and emotionally exhausting, and to be honest, despite my optimism, I didn’t think at several points we’d achieve it, or that we’d have a major accident. But we did, with a lot of thought, determination, and perseverance.

Pretty amazing to be honest and about as old school and do-it-yourself as you can get …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.