Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A Chipmunk's Tale

Dear Diary,

Last winter it was a Squirrel's Tale! Philomena visits the feeding table everyday but still the birds haven't returned. It's very warm today so I suspect they are feasting on seed heads and will return soon. It is surprising how I've come to cherish their daily visits to the feeder.

I am also looking more into my family's "tale". The internet is such a wonderful resource but I want to visit these places I read about as well. I've always been interested in family history but recently I've been more determined to fill in the blanks if I can. I know for some people the hunt for ancestors isn't worth the effort but I find it fascinating. I've found the old cemetery in Portland where some of them are buried and a visit to the Maine Historical Society will be a good place to start.

A life is one long story with many, many chapters. I guess I've started the "Looking for my roots" one now!

Every book is a quotation; and every house is a quotation out of all forests, and mines, and stone quarries; and every man is a quotation from all his ancestors.

- Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.