The Tower of London as Never Seen Before

Well I have spent the last four and a bit hours creating in the kitchen. I was inspired by The Great British Bake Off and decided to add a 3D biscuit creation to my fifty for fifty list. They made it look so easy...it wasn't!

I'd pondered different buildings and decided upon The Tower of London complete with poppies. I made a cardboard template, I bought last minute ingredients in Saisbury's this morning and I googled the best gingerbread biscuit recipes. I was ready to go. I decided to make a Delia special...and I have to say it smells and tastes gorgeous, which is just as well as I struggled to build with it.

I made one tray of biscuit to cut out shapes when cooked and one tray of pre cut crenelated walls. The tray of biscuit was good but I shouldn't have let it cool too mush before cutting...sigh. The pre cut walls were good but I needed to make bigger slots for the sides to build together as I snapped bits off as I tried to jam them together...sigh.

Anyway I stuck the walls with icing then piped windows on. It looks like a four year old has drawn them...note to self: pipe before building!! I needed a few other bits but I ran out of biscuit as I was eating it as I went...I told you it was a Delia special!!

Well...I've done it, that's another thing to cross off. So if anyone fancies a nibble on the tower with a cuppa you had better hurry round.

Now I need to have a look at 56Daisies, Paola and Kathymay who joined me in the challenge. Thanks for entering into the fun, ladies :))



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.