Like Naked, Shiny Conker, Red Balloon

My first lipstick was Like Naked by downmarket brand Miners. I well remember frumpy Miss Jones using A Hard Day's Night to illustrate the use of the apostrophe, her wondering why we dissolved into giggles when she said, "Put some spunk into it" and painting her lips white for a school revue. In the sixties it was all about eyes. I wore Mary Quant Starkers foundation and took ages each day to create Julie Driscoll-like eyes. Girls, make the most of your young skin. Those dark kohl creaselines and liquid liner used to glide on.

Come the seventies I was wearing much less make-up. I've never worn red lipstick (and, unlike the Queen, have never applied it in public) but No 7 Shiny Conker is the nearest I've come. I thought of that colour today when I looked up from the computer where I was grappling with Maldon District Council. Squidge was running along with the shiniest of conkers in her mouth. I snapped her through the glass.

An idea was crystallising. Could I substitute a lustrous lipstick coloured balloon for that conker? Is there a lipstick called Red Balloon? Thanks Mac there is. :) "A visage-brightening fuchsia rose pink, it is infused with the brand’s signature vanilla fragrance, is gorgeously pigmented and has awesome texture, wears long and leaves a gorgeous stain."

Thanks to my mate's Photoshopery Squidge is ready for the Blip party. The balloon has ended up nearer in colour to Shiny Conker than Red Balloon. :)

PS Boots phoned me this morning. No 7 Shiny Conker lipstick, which is still available today, first came out in the early seventies and cost 35p. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.