California Dreamin'

My sister and I went to a meeting at Mother's care home this morning. We laid ourselves bare in the interests of her care.

We explained about our strict upbringing. Mother's family were Plymouth Brethren. We lived a very restricted life as children. No popular music until my paternal grandmother bought a record player for us in around 1963. We had to buy a classical record each time we bought pop. Shock horror, The Beatles sang, "She loves you, yeah, yeah, yeah" not yes, yes, yes.

A favourite record of the whole family was The Seekers Come The Day. As I took this pic of an Eschscholzia, common name California poppy, I could hear Judith Durham's incredibly clear voice singing California Dreamin' My sister sang, "Turn, Turn, Turn" from this album at my father's funeral.

Mother's tenant grows plants for their seed in the glasshouses. This is a new strain of Californian poppy that is being grown for a well-known supplier of amateur growers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.