A Mum day

It's been a Mum day today. Lots of things reminded me of her. Some of it was sad and some made me smile.

The native clematis slowly coming into full bloom in the back courtyard will always remind me of her. Nearly 2 years ago we left Dad at home and went off to a nursery we knew had one native Clematis left. She saw photos of it in flower last year and selected this blip photo for the calendar I had made for her and Dad for Christmas. I think Dad has it for this month's image.

My day has been big and long. Full on at work, home to a work out then another detailed inspection of house things - lifting paper, paint touch ups and scuffs on the paint and skirting boards from the carpet laying.

Tomorrow I have a day of remedial house things on my quake repairs. In the scheme of things it won't be as big.

4 1/2 months ago I completely shifted out of home, including all wall fittings, curtains and rails. Last week I shifted all the stuff from carpeted rooms into the garage, bathroom, laundry and loft, so my carpet (damaged during the repair process) could be replaced. Tomorrow I'll be shifting stuff away from walls and some things into the bathroom.

Lifting paper will be re-stuck, paint touched up and pretty much all my skirting boards in carpeted areas re-painted. And a bloke is coming to sort out my downstairs sliding door which still isn't right.

Oh, and I've chucked a visit in from my alarm man too, just to keep things interesting ;-)

Maybe, just maybe I'll get a couple of hours of work done too.

Just 7 more big sleeps before Dad arrives for 10 day stay. Can't wait :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.