Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Cookies, Coffee, and Confessing

Last night on the way home from dinner at the beach, we stopped at the Whole Foods Market. They have the best produce and organic frozen meals and a juice bar, so we each got our dose of wheatgrass. (The head cold I thought I was getting last weekend, thankfully never developed. Shots of wheatgrass have definitely helped.)

The minute we walked through the entrance, I said, "I want to buy a gingerbread man." With the thin crisp tissue in my hand I selected just the one I wanted and placed him in the white bakery bag. I folded down the top edges and when we got home I announced that I'd save him for breakfast.

So Mr. Fun got out of bed first this morning and took Bob dog downstairs for a short walk out front and then back up the stairs they came. "Fun" had my favorite cup filled with fresh morning coffee and then he surprised me with the white bakery bag. After all the dieting we've done since last July any little bit of sweet or bakery is a treat.

So before I slowly and deliberately devoured the gingerbread cookie, I made it look into the big eye of the point & shoot. When I figured I had captured it sufficiently, I put the camera down and started one bite at a time beginning with the right foot -- well, it was on my right, so it's probably correct to say the left foot.

Mr. Fun said, "You're gonna eat his foot first?" and I said, "Well, I don't think I should eat his head first!"

And now as evening is approaching, all I can tell you is that it was one delicious cookie. That coffee cup, but the way, is my favorite. We bought it in the university bookstore the day I graduated--about 20 years later than most of my friends. I think we had stepped in there to purchase a cold drink and saw the cups and other souvenirs for sale. Because we've always loved bicycling, we've both always enjoyed that cup.

Now at 5:30 p.m. our sky is turning gray and filling with moisture. Rain is on the way. We are in preparation to visit our taxman (which is not Deb's Taxman) this coming week, so filing papers and crunching numbers is a priority at the moment.

Oh boy, it's Friday evening.
An early good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. Thanks for the many heart-felt stories left in comments on yesterday's page. Thankfully history isn't quite so sharp and caustic as the moment it was present tense. Someday we'll include more details and the part about his coming one day from marrying the other girl--because it's not a secret; at the time it felt like headlines in our then "little" community bursting with gossip. Today, we're just thankful for the soft under-belly of history and the lives we've been allowed to live.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.