Wille and the Bandits

I took a break from the current routine tonight to join Dr.Mackem (and son) to watch Wille and the Bandits play a gig in Leeds. After seeing them in Ireland a few weeks ago I was delighted to find a tour date on my doorstep here. I waxed lyrical about that performance and the guys sure didn't disappoint us tonight. They pour their very soul into their music. This really comes out when Willie (on the right) plays lap steel to give us the band's take on classic delta blues numbers. I've never heard anything quite so transporting. This is music to completely lose yourself in. See and hear for yourself here. Be warned, though, you might never come back!

They range across a variety of styles and so are quite impossible to pigeon-hole. I'm sure they would never want to be categorised in any simple way. They are all just incredible musicians. Their sound is both subtle and big at one and the same time. It's an enormous privilege to be able to watch such a band play an intimate gig like this, standing just a few feet away, able to shake their hands afterwards and make a connection.

There were other connections too tonight. The two support bands were both great, first Steel Threads (guitar and fiddle) and then Mark Black (guitar and didgeridoo - at the same time). Mark is from Donegal so I had to ask him if he knew Kate O'Callaghan whom I'd also heard in Ireland. Of course he did. The music scene is very close. As I've been writing this I've been listening to Kate on backing vocals on Mark's live album which I brought back with me tonight.

Willie and his Bandits are playing Newcastle on Friday and then Edinburgh on Saturday (at the Wee Red Bar). Get yourself out and go see them play if you can. Spread the word. It's an awesome live act.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.