A Hot Day in the City

I took a walk around the city today as I hadn't been in since Saturday. I came across and interesting things and people. It was really hot and sunny with a strong nor-west wind.

First I noticed was they were planting out a new garden around the Victoria clock tower. Soon the fence will come down and it should look wonderful.

As I was going through Victoria Sq there were people having punt down the river. The shot Top Right was taken in Victoria Sq and in the paper this morning there is talk of them revamping it. I love it the way it is so hopefully they will not change for the worse. The flowers are just past their best but still making a wonderful show.

Not long after that I meet a guy taking a shot of the demolition on the Central library. In the shot Bottom Right you can see the demolition going on. It was on hold for while, while some tests were done on it. I found out guy is on Flickr and goes around each lunch time and takes some shots. He must work close by. I had never seen him before and likewise.

The shot on the Left is the rebuild at 151 Cambridge Terrace. It sure is coming along well now.

When I was going for my coffee in New Regent St I noticed that the oversized art furniture had been removed from the street as you can see in my Flickr shot. Then one of the guys removing it said hi.. and he was the guy I was talking to when the crane come down on Monday. He told me that the furniture is going to relocated just off the street because with the Isaac Theatre Royal dew to open soon they needed more room for traffic.

The Middle Shot is the Wizard of Christchurch appearance have a read while having his coffee.

That is has been my day and what a hot one it was.... but not for long as the cold weather is coming back tomorrow. Have a good weekend

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.