Texann Times

By Texann

Peace!

My husband (blip name: Leejohnaire) and I spent the day down at MD Anderson Cancer Center for one of L's two-monthly CT scans. It's our first trip down there since we started blipping so we were quite excited about what we might find when looking around with 'new' eyes. Interestingly enough, neither of us have ended up choosing anything that particularly identifies downtown Houston or the hospital itself.

For those of you fortunate enough not to have to know, MD Anderson is one of the largest (if not THE largest) cancer hospitals in the world - several multi-storey buildings, cafes and restaurants galore, a post office, a large hotel and much, much more all within the one campus. As a result, there are also many decorative elements including patio gardens. We wandered out into one of these tranquil little spots and I noticed this bird of paradise flower that was getting a little past its sell-by date. Since I have a habit of anthropomorphizing things, my brain immediately saw it as a head with a pointy nose and a Rastafarian-style hair do and hat. It was so endearing to me that it became my chosen picture.

Back again tomorrow for the test results, so hopefully something else will grab my attention there or I may just have to blip this characterful flower from a different angle.

(Wanders off whistling Bob Marley's "Three Little Birds")

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.