Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Art Deco clock

I don't think I will ever properly retire. Work seems to follow me when people get to know what I do. I was pleased to repair this clock. It belongs to a friend I met through the walking group. He lost his father when he was very young and has only heard stories about him. This was his father's wedding present in 1928 and he was welling up, telling me how he feels it is somehow imbued with his spirit. It has not worked for a very long time. It had various problems but none of them serious and it is now ticking away on my mantelpiece. It is a quality mechanism made by the well known Japy Frères company. It should last another 100 years easily. I am looking forward to seeing his face when I return it!
In other news, I had a theory that the water in the garage was coming from a leak in the street associated with the waste pipe from the house opposite. My neighbour ran a large quantity of water through the pipe in one go and sure enough the water started to pour through my wall. I thing the water board will now have to accept that it is their problem and dig up the street. Fingers crossed that will not take too long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.