Smokey 1413 hr

Welcoming me home beside the front door.

L.
17.10.2014 (1944 hr)

Blip #1401
Consecutive Blip #002
Day #1658
Smokey #252
LOTD #636 (#756 including archived blips)

Smokey series

Cannonball Adderley Quintet - Mercy, Mercy, Mercy (recorded live, 20 October 1966, Capitol Studios, Los Angeles CA)
Cannonball Adderley Quintet: Cannonball Adderley (alto saxophone); Nat Adderley (cornet); Joe Zawinul (acoustic & electric pianos); Victor Gaskin (bass); Roy McCurdy (drums)
"You know, sometimes we're not prepared for adversity. When it happens sometimes we're caught short. We don't know exactly how to handle it when it comes up. Sometimes we don't know just what do to when adversity takes over. And uh I have advice for all of us. I got it from my pianist Joe Zawinul who wrote this tune and it sounds like what your supposed to say when you have that kind of problem. It's called Mercy, Mercy, Mercy."
As used in the film Wolf Of Wall Street, which I'd just seen, reminding me that I owned a promo 7" single of this around 1966.

One year ago: Bowood 2013 #27

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.