Autumn Abstract

I went to Brandon Marsh reserve this morning for a walk and to watch a bit of wildlife. Despite it being very mild, it was very breezy, which wasn't good for trying to spot or photograph small birds on branches or rushes. I did see a nice Sparrowhawk and some swans. There seemed to be quite a few Crows knocking about.

I found my way round to a hide overlooking a small pool with a perfectly placed branch for a Kingfisher. Not long after I had settled in to wait to see if I could spot a Kingfisher a family of small children arrived in the hide. They were enthusiastic, but just a tad noisy for them to spot anything. They decided to leave me to it in the hope that I would see a Kingfisher. About 2 minutes after they left I spotted a flash or turquoise, and a Kingfisher flew across the pool, but didn't settle. I didn't see it again.

Later as I was making my way back to the car park I saw the same family and they asked whether I had seen anything interesting after they had left, and I admitted that I had spotted the Kingfisher. They were annoyed that they'd been so close to seeing one, but they said that they had seen some squirrels which the children liked.

As the weather was pretty overcast and there wasn't much wildlife posing for the camera I decided to try and be a bit creative. This is a 3 shot multi exposure of some Silver Birch trees which were swaying in the wind next to one of the hides. I liked the colour and the effect of the movement that this has created.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.