Faster Stronger Deader.

By woodgreenforest

Rest In Peace.

I'll take you back then. Early 2009. I relent to the wishes of my girlfriend of 4 years and move out, in a state because I thought the conversation meant we were done. Feeling very ungrounded I walked across the West End to my friends, sat down and bawled. He needed some discomfort in his life. I needed a safe place. As luck would have it, he was in the process of flat-hunting and was seeing a place that night. I went with him.
When we got to the flat, there was a moment. At the foot of the stairs I looked right and stopped. This nameplate on the ground floor right. I thought: ok, it'll be ok, this is where I'm going to live, and it'll be ok.
We moved into the second floor left flat. I'm still there now. I'm still recovering from the psychological fallout of the long breakdown of that relationship, which dragged on for almost another year, till last week in fact (all together now...)
To the nameplate. J. Cairns. The link for me is John Cairns, who died in January 2009. A great, ordinary man. I think of him often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.