CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The transformation of the Rhus tree

I had a long lie in this morning accompanied by Bomble, which was delightful and unexpected. I got up to consider having breakfast but my attention was grabbed by the light falling on the Rhus tree. The scudding clouds running on the westerly winds would suddenly clear to provide backlighting for the increasingly rich colours of the leaves. I blipped the tree only a few days ago but the changes are marked already.

I went to get my camera and stood on the steps looking across the garden with the Golden Valley behind and tried to allow for the effect of the strong winds swirling the leaves. My blip yesterday of Bagpath bridge was taken at the bottom of this valley in the far distance of this picture below Minchinhampton Common which you can see on the hilltops below the sky.

When I drove up the valley yesterday I noticed blobs of rich russet tones of various Rhus trees doted around the landscape and mostly in people gardens. I think the Rhus particularly thrives on limestone soils and rocks, which is why it is so successful in these parts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.