Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Baptism

This one SOOC. Movement of hand intentionally caught. [Really value Blip advice because my husband is photo phobic and never wishes to look at my pics and since photography is in the eye of the beholder, I need some eyes please!].

The heavens were crying their eyes out today and at the baptism of baby D, daughter of Leanna Primiani, a renowned conductor and composer, I had the honour of trying to capture their memories. Only gleening this fact on the day as this session came from a referral, I found myself wanting to photograph her beautiful hands, knowing the skill that lay behind them. Daddy was in the latest Star Trek movie, again, unbeknown to me, but ironically I had just watched it on Thursday so we had a funny chat about that. La La Land.

The light in the ornate St Sophia's Greek Orthodox cathedral was an immense challenge, what with the weather and the orange glow from more gilt than the Vatican museum. One couple recalled how their wedding photos from the same cathedral had been a bit of a disaster due to the challenges. Not putting me on the spot then? i was told off only once by the priest for being a little too close which i didn't think was too bad. I also spent 5 minutes photographing a group of girls in cocktail dresses before they realised they were at the wrong service (somehow 4pm looked like 11am to them on the invitation). I'm RC and I loved the familiarity with the religions being so close together.

The reception was Greek fun. I found myself getting inside the traditional Greek dance circle and was giddy with all the rolling around on the floor to capture shoes and spinning.

My shoot was 5hrs long and I was utterly exhausted by the end of it. Its midnight now and I'm wading through the 3,000 shots. Oh dear: that really is too many! I overcompensate for fear of missing something and from fear of the challenges posed. As a result, you'll see some noise in the pics, that was inevitable with the ISO. I also believe I may have left off the IS when I switched back to the Big Fella from the Nifty Fifty. Bummer!

Just a few, honest...

My attention was focused on the beautiful feminine details throughout, the many costume changes of Miss D and the gorgeous bokeh that kept catching my eye.

Would love to share just a few of my favourites. I love 3736 which I think comes 2nd in the Slideshow.

I'm honestly way too tired now to think which of these is right for Blip, but perhaps you can help... What I do know is that I love, love, love pink, but I don't get too much of it in the house of Catherine and my boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.