Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Oscar night

This is the absolute only photograph I have from today, the rest being Flip clips so I feel rather fortunate to have it. From the Santa Monica Pier aquarium to PF Changs (I know, I know) for Sichuan chicken flatbread, Singapore noodles and a glass of champagne whilst trying to watch the Red Carpet over the boys shoulders without volume. They weren't signing ASL very much. Celebrating the Oscars as you do, it started out really well and I was enjoying the time alone with the boys despite the early school run tomorrow and a nightshift to ponder. A lifelong movie buff inspired by my family's equal obsession in the silver screen, movies always forming the centre of debate in my big boisterous Irish-Scottish family, along with books, international politics and the environment. Getting home, settling the boys quickly on account of important movie matters, Oscar night is one of the only times in 5 years I've regretted not having a TV, as this year I had no party to go to. For me to not be able to watch the awards on the TV, actually being the first I'd missed in adulthood, was, shall I say, distressing. Tried to get access on the net, and despite paying my way, it was not happening. I'm not the purist like the rest of my family, shunning award ceremonies, as I like a bit of glitz in my life too along with the intellectual.

Made in Aperture using my homemade "Trilby" black and white preset named after creating it for Reu in a trilby at Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.