Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The Big Chill

Whilst LA chills in unusually low temperatures (cough, cough), meaning I'm not able to wear flipflops, we don everything warm we can find and head out in the Radio Flyer Wagon before the sun sets. Above the mountains rise gigantic cumulonimbus, tinged with pink and purple.

A sprinkling of snow is due to fall on the Hollywood Hills, dusting the Hollywood sign, backdrop to tomorrow's Oscar night. Better get your thermals and long johns on under those red carpet couture gowns ladies!
Backblip

In other news, today I found my cellphone which has been missing for precisely 7 days and I never use the home phone. Callum rolled up on the Retro Rocket, opening the under-seat storage designed for space treasures. I didn't have to look into the trove. I just knew at that precise moment that it would be buried there, along with the missing letter Z, some wooden blocks and Woody's hat.

Saving the best til last. Reading books to Reu in the playroom, Callum joins in when he feels like it. Out of the blue Reuben says "I love you Mummy". Reuben rarely says anything out of the blue as his first expressive language is sign. It's the first time he's used those exact words (earlier today he had said "I like Callum" since he's recently learnt the sign for like/don't like"). But Mama trumped Callum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.