The Destroyed City

Ossip Zadkine's well-known sculpture "The Destroyed City" (De Verwoeste Stad) in Rotterdam symbolizing the broken heart of the city after the bombardment by the Germans in WW2.

It was made in 1951 and donated to the city of Rotterdam by the Bijenkorf - a Dutch warehouse like Harrod's in London - as they were also eradicated in the bombardment of the city.

I referred to this statue in yesterday's entry, but I couldn't find it either. It used to be a landmark statue standing free at the beginning of the Coolsingel.

I'm not sure what happened, it's either moved of they built a museum in front of it, or both, I don't know but it's kind of hidden nowadays too.

Anyway, I found it but couldn't shoot the angle I had in my mind as the sun was annoyingly beside it making my light meter go crazy, so I shot this backlight image withe the sun exactly behind it ;-)

If you google 'The Destroyed City' by Zadkine you'll see the hole in the heart of the statue from many angles ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.