The Uiver (part 1)

My journal is a modern variation of the world famous Delftware - also known as Delft Blue - porcelain. Therefore I also find inspiration in the traditional images portrayed on those tiles and plates.

Some time ago I spotted this memorial plate of the MacRobertson International Air Race in 1934 and noted the date in my agenda as journal topic. Now the day has come and I went back to shoot it.

KLM, our 95 year old Royal Dutch airlines entered it with a DC2 called the 'Uiver' (Dutch for Stork) and it became a legendary flight.

There's a great story behind this event exactly 80 years ago which I will reveal in my journal the coming days.

I can already tell you this project involves a cooperation with Albury Australia and I will enter the result on which I'm working on the 23rd!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.