StormCloud

By StormCloud

Last of the apples

So I have had a rare day to myself, L.B. having taken herself off to a music festival of some sort, and I've felt quite at a loose end.

I decided to turn an old and slightly dejected looking cauliflower, that seems to have been in the fridge forever, into soup. Delicious as it turns out, I was very surprised not being a massive fan of the vegetable.

I also used the last of the apples my dad picked for me the last time I went home. He did tell me what they all were but I've mostly forgotten the names now, except that they're 'cookers'. Huzzah. I made a Devonshire Apple cake, which I've adapted a bit to make it nut free and also include some left over dulce de leche. The kitchen smelt glorious as it achieved golden loveliness in the oven.

Now as I wait for L.B. to return, I've been reading an old favourite, with a piece of apple cake and a cup of tea. Yum.

Goodnight all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.