It's a mystery

There's this tree (or is it a shrub?) in the garden in Holland, it's only been there a couple of years, it's deciduous, one slim trunk which has grown to a man size length, some branches have developed, leaves are set as a compound, heartshaped, and have thorns at the base of the leaves but also on the leaves itself. Not one to handle without gloves. Can't remember having seen any flowers. I can't identify it no matter which plant identifying system I am using. But it does have pretty colours in autumn :-)

Still in Holland, waiting for husband to pick me up when he returns from Scotland tonight. The rainstorm hasn't reached us yet and even though it is distinctly colder than over the weekend the sun was shining and I decided I'd try a bit of a bike ride and a short stroll around the nearest entrance to the woods over here. Went well, I can ride a bicycle with the knee if there's not too much height difference (that's the problem in Belgium, too many hills to ride a bicycle for me!).

Thanks very much for your comments and stars for yesterday's fading flowers in the garden :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.