Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

First road bed in place

I installed the most complex set of switches or turnouts. These lead to the staging yard. There are six turnouts, each with a motor underneath. In addition there are sixteen track feeders - small wires that are soldered to the rails and extend below the styrofoam. These will be attached to the main electrical circuit in the future. As a side note, with DCC (digital Command Control), you need to bring a wire to each rail of each track segment for the best electrical connection and control. Once I had cut away part of the underneath styrofoam, I could install the completed switch set that I had constructed on my work table.

Then the fun - installing the first of the cork roadbed. Very easy as it comes in two halves split down the middle so that making a curve is very easy. A layer of DAP 230 acrylic caulk, spread thin with a putty knife, and the road bed is laid out. The push pins you see are to hold the road bed in place until the caulk dries. Once that happens it is a very strong bond. Now to finish the rest of the roadbed on the staging yard and then I get to install the track.

Not the most fun, but I want to install shelved underneath the staging yard and it is easier to lay the track and wire it up before doing that.

Once this is done, I will be going back to the Sn3 layout and cleaning the track. It has been ignored too long and needs to be run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.