CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

The mighty oak has fallen

I spoke to C this evening to tell him I was on my way home, and asked him how the pruning of the odd branch on the huge oak tree across the road was going. He replied “prepare yourself for a shock.”

I must admit it brought a tear to my eye when I looked across the road towards the field.

I think the tree surgeons had been called out as a huge branch which hung over the road looked as though it was in danger of coming down. They took the branch down, then another and another. Evidently the tree was split right down the centre and nothing could be done to save it. They’re coming back tomorrow to remove the trunk.

How very sad. That’s two enormous oak trees that the village has lost within a year. Both were several hundred years old.

I've just looked for quotations about oak trees, and liked this one the best:-
Remember that the mighty oak tree was once a little nut that held its ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.