Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie visits Calton Hill

After yesterday's lovely early morning visit to town, I thought I'd do another early visit. Unfortunately, it was cloudy, so I really shouldn't have bothered.

Archie and I were on the 8:15 bus down the Bridges. Jam-packed, late, dead slow and stop - I would hate to do that every day. Archie started crying mid way, probably because we were squashed in at the window seat, and he likes to see all the feet going by. He yelped all the way down the bus, causing folk to leap to the side and let us past!

Actually, I nearly cried too - it was interminable. And my pet hate- one of my pet hates - a sniffer right behind me. Not just any sniffer, a full on snottery snorter. Disgusting! When he left, I saw that he was a well dressed young man, in a blue suit, nicely polished shoes and well groomed hair. Wonder if he does it when he's selling people mortgages...

We went up Calton Hill. Archie raced up the steps. I staggered up, stopping to look at the view several times. There was a bus load of Japanese tourists already there. Suddenly a whippet appeared between all the legs and the two dogs charged round and round on the grass causing much hilarity for the tourists, as Archie was miles behind the whippet with not a hope of catching up, and whimpering with frustration.

From there we went to gaze in at the new Apple shop. I stood at the door and a young male assistant signalled 'No Dogs'. The fact that two young female assistants signalled for me to come in caused some confusion.

But I didn't want to come in. I wanted ask about sorting my email on my iPad, which has been playing up despite my following their instructions. The young man suggested I make a free 'Genius Bar' appointment, which I will do. Nice not to have to go through to the Apple Shop in Glasgow any more.

Back through the Gardens, where Archie had another romp. He showed a vague interest in a discarded beer can. A very nasty incident was averted. For a yard or so away from the beer can was a dead squirrel with its throat ripped out. If he'd got hold of THAT I one of us would have been VERY unhappy.

It's only 10am. I may do some gardening. I may give the hedge a last cut. But I suspect Archie and I will spend the afternoon on the sofa...

EDIT: The sofa was not sat upon. I set to and spent two hours in the front garden, moving spare flagstones to reclaim more of the weed flower bed. And I dug it out with the coal shovel... Archie was at the window, not allowed to 'help'. He kept tapping on it, as if pointing out that I had forgotten something. A wee robin helped me instead.

Then we went down to visit Uncle A to sort out his iPads. Partial success (he has two - don't ask) but I brought one home and have set it up, with a few added treats.

What a flurry of activity! It must be these new pills...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.