Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Kayleigh

The whirlwind of activity continues - I had the washing done, fire cleared and set, slow cooker filled with random edible stuff and set on low for the day, hedge trimmed and swept up - all by 10:30. Amazing.

Then Archie and I walked down to bring the iPad back to Uncle A. All set up with goodies like word games, TED talks, newspapers, BBC website. Also left him to figure out Drop Box - ideal for moving photos between computer and iPad.

Arch and I got the bus down to the Meadows and had a big walk right through them. We met Kayleigh, a beautiful lurcher. I chatted with her owner for ages - he was very proud of her. She was rescue dog, as many retired racing dogs are. She'd been speyed and had turned quite nippy since this quite recent event. She nipped at the little squirt Archie who wanted to have a sniff of her nether regions. The cheek!! He then hung around at a safe distance.

I heard Kayleigh's life story. She's quite a character. The chap can put down her dish with lovely kibble and meaty treats and Kayleigh will walk away and sit on her bed... and wait until he grates cheese over it! Then she will amble over and deign to eat it. How funny.

Just got back in time for the delivery of the citronella collar! I was so excited at receiving what I hoped would be the solution to the unwanted barking. Achie and I sat out the front, him with his new collar on, and I willed a squawky squeaky toddler to come along... Please... None. Not even a quiet one.

However, Archie gave a wee sneeze, and as the collar is microphone activated, and can't tell the difference between a sneeze and a bark, he must have got a wee spray under his chin. He did NOT like it. And he couldn't work out where exactly it had come from, so to be on the safe side, he decided to avoid the whole front area and went and sat in the hallway and refused to come out again. After treats and cuddles in the sofa, I think he's forgiven me...

NOT a success.

The slow-cooked-no-recipe-random-item meal should hopefully be more successful. But I'm not confident...

Update: The meal was good! Not one to serve to visitors, but edible. Slow cookers are the bees knees!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.