Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

JR helps Bake Off Winner!

I’ve had a frustrating morning, ringing electricians who are running an hour late and don’t bother to let me know, trying to book something exciting for tomorrow, but can only contact them by email and haven’t heard back yet, asking if the new table and chairs can be delivered on a Saturday - ‘Sorry - can’t get the lads to work on Saturdays’.

I changed the electrician to this afternoon, and he’s just arrived. Just as well.

So I went shopping with Uncle A in the morning. After that, I wanted to go into town to capture some of the autumn colours in the Gardens before the wind whips them all off, but realised I was running out of time, so hopped off the bus at Greyfriars Church for a quick wander.

This was the best tree, though on a bit of a lean, and I was delighted to find a couple of little ‘shrooms. I’ve been admiring the fabulous ones people keep blipping - these two are a bit pathetic, but they’re the first I’ve seen. Thank goodness for my flipout screen, but I was still almost stuck while bending over. Certainly there was a lot of grunting. Just as well I was the only person there.

JR was rather pleased that her tip to Frances, the Bake Off winner, to use oven dried slices of pineapple as flowers on her final cake, helped her to win!

And I’ve just looked absolutely everywhere, and there are no more muffins/cup cakes in the house. And I just fancied one...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.