The Uiver (part3)

In my research for my Uiver four-part story I needed a photo of the DC2 PH-AJU and stumbled on several Australian sites. I contacted one of them as they had exactly what I was looking for.... a 'flying' Dakota and even better.... an exact copy of the original plane in KLM colors.

We started a long distance conversation and I discovered more and more about the unique history of the plane and the town of Albury NSW Australia. It intrigued me and was even happier to know he had many photo's in an album of the Uiver memorial.

mr Gerard Blom of the 'Uiver Memorial Albury' facebook page was so kind to dig up two originals for me to use in a co-production. Here's the first of the two showing the restored DC2 on display at the Albury Airport since 1980. Sadly enough the shots were taken before sculpture was dismounted several years ago amid safety concerns after weathering more than twenty years outdoors and the quality is significantly lower than we are used to nowadays. Never the less I'm really grateful to have permission to use his photo's for my end project tomorrow.

Note: Plans are now underway to again restore the DC2. As a result the Uiver Memorial Trust was established in 2006 to help raise funds for the restoration process which is expected to take three to four years. The Trust hopes to then put the DC2 in a climate controlled environment at Albury Airport alongside Uiver memorabilia. Maybe something for KLM to participate in preserving their almost 100 year history?

Look out for tomorrows entry, I'm really going to make an effort on recreating that shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.