Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Flying With The Sun At My Back

I somehow missed posting Zippy's Circus Act two days ago.  Take a look now, if it pleases you :-)

I thought Zippy was the only hummer still around but I was wrong.  This female Anna's was hovering, and eventually decided to hone in on the nectar.

This morning was the first time I took my camera with 'Big Bertha' attached to it outside with me on the patio without the tripod.  Shooting hummingbirds (esp. without a tripod), when you are depending on them to come to a single feeder, and when you have only one or two of them in the neighborhood, is a very laborious endeavor.

I hold the camera up to my eye with my finger cocked on the shutter release  ready to snap in a split second.  I might be in that position for twenty minutes before a bird flies in, gets a sip and flies out.  If I'm ready, I snap as fast as I can hoping that I will have caught it in flight (or at least moving) and in focus.

 I had been out for hours. This shot was the very last one I took for the morning. I had all but given up.  Hoping that it looked as good on the computer as it did in the camera (you know sometimes they don't!) I packed up my things and went into the cooler house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.