Derelict Thursday. Pigeons Roost

Sand Man Today I traveled back from Christchurch after finishing my Block Course,I shot this image of the inside of an old grain shed on State Highway 1 just out of Ashburton. All that is left are the pigeons and this old shed full of wasted grain. Today is another special day,this day 1962 at 5:17pm at Kew Hospital Invercargill a plan was hatched no sorry a Baby boy weighing 8 pound 10 ounces was born 2 months premature he was strong willed and both Mother and Baby were lucky to be alive,the boy was, strong willed and a survivor along with his Mother of course some of that rubbed off. As I grew up with my 2 sisters and brother, my father would take photos of our progress in his new adopted country. Gradually more off spring were produced until there would be 9 of us sitting around the dining table for our evening meal. Dad was an Artist,Photographer and Explorer and it was Fluffikens image of the river scene that brought back a very wonderful vivid memory of when I was a preschooler and Dad put me in the child seat on the back of his big Black 28 inch bicycle and we went blackberry picking, there was no river but we crossed ditches and creeks through a wonderful bush setting. Dad would put me on his shoulders so I could get across the water ways, the memory is still so clear it is almost as if it was yesterday. So here I am 25 back to front posting my image on my Birthday after having a lovely piece of Chocolate sponge that MrsPuff put 1 candle in : )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.