random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Still cool enough to sleep

Had a night trip round Chennai, it wasn't very coherent apart from the beach - which was covered in sleepers - where do they go when it gets hotter?

The Saravana Bhavan trip was good, fast food South Indian style - healthy also.

When I first started eating Indian food, in many varied curry houses in Bradford, progressing to be able to eat a "madras" was a major step due to the hotness. I believed that South Indian food was much hotter. I finally get to the place and I find that in Tamil Nadu the standard curry is a sambar (reasonably spicy lentil & veg curry), served with vada (fried lentil balls), udli (lentil balls) or dosa (pancakes), but anyone in Edinburgh who went to Suruchi when it first arrived would know that. Last time I looked at the menu they had reverted to a more traditional northern indian format.

So here, your choice is the carbs, whatever you choose comes with the sambar and coconut chutney (a bit creamy to be what I would describe as a chutney)

Apparently the neighbouring state of Andhra Pradesh, containing Hyderabad is the place for spicy food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.