random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Tourist day

Cholamandalam Artists Village was way over expectations - amazing paintings and sculptures, didn't really need the artists house visits but Venu's daughter Kiran got to talk to an artist who is preparing for a show in Kolkata, who gave her what sounded like good advice.

Tiger Rocks were great, just some rocks - the sea side of some had been carved. Kiran and I did a wee bitty bouldering but they were very hot. We didn't attempt the huge overhanger. She then got keen and climbed a few trees.

Mahabalipuram was way touristy. Found a scrambly way up to a lighthouse and tower and then came up against a school trip coming up the steps we wanted to go down, stood at the top for 5mins as it got fuller and fuller with no recognition from those below that it would eventually be chocka.

Managed to get my pestle and mortar, and a hat. Some guy told me he had built his shop just for me coming, my response should have been that he may as well start dismantling it then, instead I just kept walking - I saw him a couple more times that day and he kept reminding me.

Walked down to the temple and then onto the most crowded beach I've ever seen, the least crowded place was in the water - so now I can say I've paddled in the Bay of Bengal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.