random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Beach City

The fish was in the market but still some boats were going out. Apparently this beach is the second largest in the world but has a strong undertow. I had no where to leave my valuables for a dip, and somehow felt that the gathering bunch of kids who had "not eaten for 10 days" were not going to watch it reliably.

The rickshaw driver was surprised I wanted to go to the smelly fish stalls by the beach and even more surprised when I wanted to see the docks. He took me to a flyover with a view, so I wandered over to another bloke who appeared to be looking as well and simultaneoulsy clocked the smell and stream of urine. Phew - must be a well known pee stop! A bit later some women stopped for a look at the view. I have no idea whether they just wanted to see what I was looking at or whether they wanted a pee. Some other guys wanted photos taken with me.

Went over to Venu's for dinner, which was lovely, comprising all the carb types I described on Friday. And Meena made cardomom tea for me, without milk - which is unusual. I made a faux pas - trying to tell Indian's they know nothing about tea - I was making the point that Indian's spoil it with milk and sugar and started going on about it coming from the North and then found out that standard tea comes from Tamil Nadu - and more specifically from where Meena comes from. Whoops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.